Skip to content

How to Choose the Right Diffuser for You and Your Family

February 5, 2015

doterra diffuser debateDiffusing essential oils is one of the nicest and HEALTHIEST ways to make your home smell good.  In addition to just making your house a more pleasant place to be, essential oils also have the ability to clean the air, to open airways, and to positively affect your mood.  (If you are up for hard science, you might like to check out the website www.aromaticscience.com for listing of all published research on essential oil use).

In order to diffuse oils effectively, you’ll need a diffuser.  That’s a little machine that will put essential oils into the air.  I frequently get asked about which doTERRA diffuser is the best.  So in case you’ve been wondering, here’s my thoughts.  I hope this helps you make your decision…

How to Choose the Right Diffuser for Your Family…

The reason there are 4 different doTERRA diffusers is because they work in different ways and which is best will depend on what you need it to do and which one works better for your goals. Here are the pros and cons as I see them:

Lotus Diffuser

It looks beautiful and has a soothing blue light.  You put a little water in it mixed with oils and it’s like a little humidifier. The Lotus diffuser won’t stay on for more than an hour and will only run up to two hours without having to refill. You also have to clean it regularly or it gets water deposits and won’t work well.  It’s easy to clean though. lotus-diffuser-light-on It comes with a little brush and every 6 months or so, I brush the silver ultrasonic metal piece and then it works like a charm again.    I love having my lotus diffuser on my kitchen counter.   For me, I don’t like being locked in to the same scent all day long, I love that with the lotus I can change the aroma after two hours.  However having to refill it that often drives some people crazy.   To me it’s big advantage is that it is very quiet to run – just a slight sound of moving water which I find lovely.   In addition, with the newest model, the lovely blue light can be turn off or left on.

 

Aroma Ace Diffuser

To me, it is worth the little bit of extra money for the Aroma Ace Diffuser.   The main drawback is that it’s pretty noisy.  If it’s running in my kitchen in the day, I don’t even notice hearing it, but in my bedroom at night, it drives me nuts!   My husband on the other hand finds it to be a soothing white noise though and can easily sleep through it.  I like to run it upstairs when I put the kids to bed with either serenity or vetiver.   You can learn more about serenity here http://doterrablog.com/eo-spotlight-serenity-calming-blend-2/ and more about vetiver here  http://doterrablog.com/eo-spotlight-vetiver-2/   Both are great oils for promoting a restful sleep.   The nice thing about the aroma ace is that it’s so adjustable – you control the rate of diffuser from low to high, and you control how long it says on and how long it stays off for.   So for example, at the kids’ bedtime we set it to run at medium on for 10 minutes on and off for 20 minutes.  aroma-ace-diffuserAbout 2 hours later when we go to bed we shut it off but the aroma lasts in the air for 3-4 hours.  And that’s enough for us.  I know someone who uses it at their massage clinic – there they set it to run at low on for 5 minutes and off for 10 minutes and it alternates on and off in that sequence all day.  It would great for at the clinic because they can set it and forget about it.  The one downside is that if you run an oil on high on for 30 minutes and off for 2 minutes continuously day and night in that setting, a 15ml bottle of oil would last about a week.  Depending on the oil, that can get quite expensive.   This kind of diffuser uses a different technology so the oil isn’t mixed with water – you just screw the bottle directly into the diffuser.

 

Aroma Lite Diffuser

I love the Aroma Lite; it’s a close tie with Lotus for  my favorite doTERRA diffuser. I still use the Lotus in the kitchen because I love to change the essential oil scent frequently and I LOVE how pretty it looks.  I love having the Aroma Ace upstairs because it’s less prepping than the Aroma Lite or Lotus since you don’t have to put water in it.

BUT I love the Aroma Lite for it’s all around usefulness.  It’s great for bedroom during the night because it is really quiet and you can turn the light off and it will run for up to  8 hours.  If someone has a cough in your family, then having some breathe oil diffusing all night long will make a world of difference in the quality of their sleep. aroma_lite Similar to the lotus diffuser, the aromalite uses water and oil together and ultra sonic diffusion to create the mist.   Therefore it will need cleaning for the water deposits but I have found it easier to clean that the lotus diffuser, because it’s easier to get access to the little silver plate instead that you need to clean.    I like that that the little purple light but it can be turned off or on.  The other reason I love this one, is that it’s a great diffuser to travel with.  It’s small and compact and fits easily into a suitcase.    It’s actually compact enough that I can put in it in my purse when I travel to teach classes.   It’s final pro is that is covers a large area up to 1000 square feet.

Petal Diffuser

The petal diffuser is the newest in my collection of diffusers.  I think the part I like the most about this diffuser is the price point.  It’s about half the cost of the other ones.  It uses ultrasonic diffuser similar to the lotus and the aromalite, so it also needs to be cleaned from time to time.  The tank of water is slightly smaller than the aromalite, so the petal’s maximum diffusion time is 4 hours.  You can also set it to run for 1 hour, 2 hours or 4 hours.  It has a little purple light which can be turned on or off.  The top white petal diffuserpart of the diffuser will glow and lovely quite lovely turned on.  It works great as a night light as well.   In my experience, many families like to have a diffuser in each child’s bedroom.    This one is probably your best bet for that option because it’s easier on the pocket book.   If you are just starting out with oils and are looking for your first diffuser, I think this would be a good choice.  It’s quiet, has a cute design, is versatile and works well.  It covers about 330 square feet.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Steph permalink
    May 2, 2015 6:57 pm

    :)Thanks for the review! One question though, I thought the Petal covered 330 sq feet? That’s what the doterra site said.

Leave a Reply

